Talk

Advanced search

I have to re-home my reactive dog - I am not the right owner for he

(37 Posts)
RosieSW Wed 15-Jun-16 05:22:36

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

georgedawes Wed 15-Jun-16 07:34:29

To ensure honest I'd pts. I know that sounds awful, but the chances of a dog that has bitten finding a good home are extremely small when so many 'good' dogs are waiting for forever homes. I'd be very concerned you were just passing the problem on. Sorry if that's not what you want to hear.

Greyhorses Wed 15-Jun-16 07:40:36

Hi RosieSW

I have lots of experience of this as I have a fear aggressive GSD and have gone through most things at least once. Mine is similar to yours and is fearful from early experiences which happened as a very young puppy.
Reactive dogs generally aren't always aggressive but act impulsively and that's how people get hurt, so she may not be aggressive in the traditional sense but still she should be muzzled and under control when out or you could end up in an even worse situation if she hurts a dog or someone (or you!) are caught up in it.

It has been a very long, expensive and hard thing to deal with. 12 weeks isnt long in the grand scheme of things but what I found was that I had to adjust my expectations and accept the dog for what she is. This was the best piece of advice I ever got from a trainer, some dogs just are damaged and realistically reversing it is hard. Mine is 12 months into training and still isn't there yet.

I work with dogs and have seen people take dogs like this with visions of having the perfect family pet with some love and affection but the reality is not like that for most reactive dogs sadly. In my opinion dogs like this cannot ever be rehabilitated to be like a normal dog. She might be able to get to the point where her behaviour is socially acceptable but she will proberbly always be reactive and this theory was confirmed by a leading vet behaviouralist.