Talk

Advanced search

monthly cost of puppies and then dogs/bitches!

(14 Posts)
FeedMyFaceWithJaffaCakes Tue 31-May-16 00:52:08

Me and my DP are thinking about getting a poddle X westie bitch.
Have thought about it long and hard. I have always grown up around dogs and always envisaged myself having dogs.
We both work full time but I am a nurse and do shifts doing a mixture of 8-4 and 1.30-21.30s and DP works 8-4. For the days we are both on 8-4 we plan to get a dog walker to give the dog an hours walk midday/mid time so max on her own for 3/4 hours. When we first get puppy we will build up time left on her own so she gets used to it.
Anyway, the point of the point was to ask how much to budget a month roughly for food etc.
The puppy we're thinking of reserving will come with first set of jabs and wormed. And dog walking a week will be £60 in my local area approx!
TIA.

Wyldfyre Tue 31-May-16 07:11:19

Food can cost little or a lot. Unfortunately the price tag does not give an indication of its quality.

Take a look at allaboutdogfood.co.uk. Go for nothing less than a 3 out of 5. Look for one with a named meat source as one of the first three ingredients and avoid anything with maize or wheat as many dogs are intolerant.
Price is not an indication of quality - there are plenty of poor foods with a top price tag.
In my view one of the best price to quality ratios is Skinners Field and Trial as its about the same price as Bakers/Pedigree/Wagg but far superior quality.
As a general rule the better the quality the less you have to feed in comparison to lower quality foods, so it can actually work out cheaper to buy one that's "more expensive"(ie a higher cost per bag).
I'd also recommend insurance. I pay £15 a month for a 4 year old lab - but if anything goes wrong she is covered.
Annual worming tablets, boosters (though apart from leptospirosis these are actually on a three year rolling cycle so price may vary year to year)

1frenchfoodie Tue 31-May-16 08:39:12