Talk

Advanced search

rehoming a rescue dog

(96 Posts)
lemonymelanie Sun 28-Feb-16 11:39:45

Hello, I'm new in the doghouse, but hope to become a regular :-)

Have been looking for a dog in rescue shelters to rehome and yesterday we found her! She is gorgoeus, a sort of staffy cross - so gentle and friendly. We are going to see her again today, and we should have her home with us by the end of the week.

I am taking her a blanket we slept on last night, to leave in her shelter bed so she gets to know our scent. Is there anything else I should be doing? She is a rescued dog - it seems she has had pups recently, so I thought maybe a plush cuddly toy puppy to snuggle up with? I think she must be very confused and maybe a bit hormonal as she will be getting spayed by the shelter this week too.

thank you in advance for any advice!

Bubble2bubble Sun 28-Feb-16 21:06:02

Congratulations smile
That's a nice idea to take her blanket. Chances are she has never had toys, so it may take her a while to know what to do with them, but you never know.
Fingers crossed everything works out and you can post some pictures next weekend smile

Wolfiefan Sun 28-Feb-16 21:06:59

Has she got a safe quiet place she can go to in your house?

lemonymelanie Sun 28-Feb-16 22:46:27

Yes, the shelter thought she might just pull the toy apart, so we just left the blanket.:-). We took her out for a play on the lead in the shelter's grounds and she was great. She recognised us from yesterday and we got a lovely welcome.

She has a flea allergy and her skin is a bit sore on her back, she has a lovely intelligent face, and she hasn't barked at all, even though we were playing and running with her and she seemed delighted to be out in the fresh air with all the spring smells - it was a beautiful sunny day here today. She was sniffing everything and at one point just rolled over and let me tickle her tummy for ages. I think she likes us :-)