Talk

Advanced search

Anyone up? Rescue dog crying :(

(28 Posts)
CommunistLegoBloc Thu 04-Feb-16 00:13:37

argh I feel sick. Have another thread about my beautiful new rescue. It's his second night. Last night he went to bed and we didn't hear a peep. Now he's pacing and crying. Everything I've read says to leave him but I feel absolutely terrible. Someone please reassure me! No way I can sleep.

UsernameIncorrect Thu 04-Feb-16 00:19:53

I'm sure you've brought him outside. Hard to ignore I know (hence mine sleeps in my bed) but do try to ignore if you know he has everything he needs.

Floralnomad Thu 04-Feb-16 00:21:21

Either take him to bed with you or go and sit near him until he settles , when he has really settled in you can always reintroduce a bedtime routine .

harryhausen Thu 04-Feb-16 00:21:50

I'm up but I'm no expert.

My 10 month old pup never cried at all until he went through a phase at about 6 months. Then he started howling at night. The first time I went down to him but it just made him worse afterwards. My dh kept me strong and he did eventually stop. He's back to no howling now.

I'm sorry I'm no help. I know how horrible it is. Is the dog in a crate? Could you try it in your room for now then work out gradual retreat later?

hollinhurst84 Thu 04-Feb-16 00:22:58

Ticking alarm clock, hot water bottle, top that smells of you...?

MrsJayy Thu 04-Feb-16 00:23:39

Bring its bed near you in the room or the landing or go sleep on the sofa with it or get up shh it and go back to bed reassure and go bk to bed

CommunistLegoBloc Thu 04-Feb-16 00:25:44

Thanks all. The rescue said to leave him and he has stopped, for now. Feeling oddly shaken by it.

Floralnomad Thu 04-Feb-16 00:28:49

Another quick thought is he warm enough ? Lots of pointy dogs feel the cold and need to wear jimjams if you are not having the heating on overnight .

MrsJayy Thu 04-Feb-16 00:30:33