Talk

Advanced search

Crate training - naively optomistic??

(16 Posts)
SinclairSpectrum Fri 14-Nov-14 14:53:33

So, after many ups and downs I have found a puppy.
He is coming home in a couple of weeks so I have been shopping grin
Got crate / bed etc as hoping to crate overnight. I understand the need for pup to associate crate with good things - peace, respite from kids, Kong etc, but is it possible to do this on day 1?
Would like him to sleep in it from the start but don't want it to be a traumatic experience on his first day with us.
Advice / anecdotes please...

Isthatwhatdemonsdo Fri 14-Nov-14 15:05:25

Our 9 month old lab had a crate from day one at our house. She's got a nice comfy bed and a couple of toys. She's happy to spend time in there.

pigsDOfly Fri 14-Nov-14 16:07:48

My dog was born in her mum's crate - mum loved her crate and it was the only place she'd give birth - so was crate trained when I got her so I'm not an expert at crate training but can see no reason why, if it's like a cosy den, pup shouldn't love it.

Try feeding him in his crate so he associates it with good things and use lots of treats to entice him in as he may be reluctant at first. Keep his bed in there and leave the door open during the day so he can come and go as he likes.

You can buy heat pads that you can put in with pup under his bed cushion so it's warm and some pups find having something like a ticking clock in with them helps apparently.

I bought a cover for my dog's crate so the sides, top and back were covered, which I think, made it seem very cave like and safe and she was happy to sleep downstairs in it on her own from the start.

You might find that your little chap feels a bit lonely at first on his own. If he is, and you can, it's a good idea to start him off with the crate in your bedroom and then gradually move it to it's eventual permanent place as he gets more confident.