Talk

Advanced search

Insurance minefield- PetPlan vs PetProtect?

(9 Posts)
monkeyfacegrace Tue 04-Feb-14 21:40:47

Gah, my brain is fried.

Is lifetime worth it?

PetProtect are offering £4k cover, £50 excess for £10.97 p.mth

PetPlan are offering £4k cover, £90 excess for £19.47 p.mth.

So why am I wavering towards PetPlan!

Thing is, if my pup does ever get a lifelong/pre existing condition, Im going to need to stay with one company for life. Now, who, of those two, is 1) Not going to rocket my premiums in future years 2) Actually pay out?

Also, do you build up 'no claims' etc? Im new to this.
So, if pup needed any vet treatment, do I claim for ANYTHING over the excess, or do I need to lay low?

My brain is frazzled confused

Lonecatwithkitten Tue 04-Feb-14 22:08:06

Yes lifetime is worth it in excess of 80% of vet insurance claims of for chronic conditions such as diabetes, arthritis etc. Both companies pay out well. Both companies premiums rise as the dog gets older, pet plan it is not related to claims I am not certain about pet protect.

Lonecatwithkitten Tue 04-Feb-14 22:08:37

Oh and there re no 'no claims' bonuses in this industry.

Pudtat Tue 04-Feb-14 22:13:54

Just wanted to say that I have had thousands out of pet plan and they've been great. Accident damage which took over two years to fix (never mind the pins plates and skin grafts) and later on diabetes. Never a quibble .

No experience of the other.

monkeyfacegrace Wed 05-Feb-14 07:03:19

T

monkeyfacegrace Wed 05-Feb-14 07:03:50

Thanks guys.

Bumping for anybody else's opinions?

tabulahrasa Wed 05-Feb-14 08:54:13

You want lifetime cover as it's not just chronic conditions that it matters for, any skin problems will all be treated as the same issue even if years apart and completely unrelated, or ear or knee or wherever else it happens to be.