Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Border terrier pups, Where to start looking?

(14 Posts)
Icanonlytry Mon 26-Nov-12 12:29:39

We have finally decided to get Dd a dog now she is old enough to help look after it, we have decided on a border terrier.
The problem is I dont know where to get a pup from. Have searched online and found some local breeders but how do I know if they are reputable breeders?
My friend is an experienced vet nurse and has said she will come with us to check the puppy over but I need to find one first smile

D0oinMeCleanin Mon 26-Nov-12 12:38:01

www.dogsblog.com/category/border-terrier/
www.the-kennel-club.org.uk/services/public/findarescue/Default.aspx?breed=3062

doggydaze Mon 26-Nov-12 14:16:23

I am no expert but on my web travels looking at rescues and researching traits of breeds I found champdogs.co.uk has a good description of breeds, then available puppies, breeders, stud dogs etc.

Others more expert than myself may be able to advise further.

Icanonlytry Mon 26-Nov-12 14:21:50

Thanks, I have looked on both of those links and they dont have what we are looking for anywhere near us.
Have looked on champdogs and contacted a few people on there but one has only got one dog left (dp only wants a bitch) and waiting for the other person to get in touch.

Floralnomad Mon 26-Nov-12 14:25:26

I'd be wary of anyone who has a puppy " left " from a litter , with most good breeders the pups will have been booked prior to the birth, especially for popular dogs like Borders.

D0oinMeCleanin Mon 26-Nov-12 14:26:29

Oh you want a puppy now? sad

No responsible breeder would have a litter this close to Christmas. Plus they all have waiting lists. Anyone you can just trot up to and walk away with a puppy the same week is a BYB at best.

Icanonlytry Mon 26-Nov-12 14:49:54