Talk

Advanced search

Dog play etiquette and control - esp neck biting

(6 Posts)
paddythepooch Fri 19-Oct-12 08:05:26

Hi

I'm new to this - had our approx 9 month lurcher for about 5 weeks. He's doing great.

He LOVES playing with other dogs but is v boisterous and does the neck biting thing. He seems good at sussing out if the other dog wants to play - so leaves his elders and betters alone.

I'm concerned that he gets OTT and want to try and control the neck biting which I sense that some owners are alarmed by (I don't blame them!). He's quite big so it's understandable esp if it's a smaller dog.

I don't want him to stop playing - it's good for him and he will learn from it. But equally I don't want him to be a PITA. Any tips for controlling the neck biting bit esp? Should I just watch carefully and say 'no' and put him back on the lead when it happens?

I know some of this is down to what owners feel comfy with. We meet one lab pup where the owner clearly doesn't want him to play with her but the puppy comes over to say hello.

Any tips on training and etiquette here?

EasyToEatTiger Fri 19-Oct-12 08:59:08

You should be ok as long as your dog isn't taking chunks out of another dog. It is important when dogs meet that there is enough space for them to run away. Small footpaths are hopeless for this. It is worth remembering that dogs are usually on a lead for a reason so best avoided.
Keep an eye on your dog, and really watch what is going on. Are you watching the reaction of the other dog too, or focusing mainly on your dog?

paddythepooch Fri 19-Oct-12 11:40:30

Watching both - he's just come back from a glorious run with a saluki type lurcher and they were both doing it to each other. No hint of aggression - just a pair of loons. I'm especially wary when it's a much smaller/slower dog.

Good point re space. Just safer for all concerned.

PandaWatch Fri 19-Oct-12 17:34:12