Talk

Advanced search

It's only a dog, but it's ruining our marriage

(6 Posts)
feesh Thu 13-Oct-11 06:34:53

I'll try and keep this short - I'm new to Mumsnet by the way.

We live in the Middle East and took a stray puppy in a few months ago - we didn't want to, but our friends were threatening to put it back out onto the street. They couldn't keep it themselves and all the animal shelters etc were full. So we agreed to take it in and then spent the next 2 months or so trying really hard (and failing) to find a permanent home for it. We only really accepted that we were keeping her when she was about 5 months old.

The reasons for not wanting a puppy were basically that we'd just moved out here and wanted to start settling into our new life and, although we've always wanted a dog, we swore blind that we'd never take on a puppy when the time came to get one.

So the early days were really hard. I had a big shock with how hard it was and DH would often come home from work to find me a sobbing, crumpled mess in the corner of the kitchen. I am not working out here, although I probably would have a job by now, were it not for the puppy!

We have done everything right for the puppy - she has been trained using positive reinforcement, I read all the books such as the Culture Clash and came on here quite a lot to gain a lot of knowledge about how to do things. So she's turned into a lovely 8-month old dog and we love her to bits now. My husband has taken very little active involvement in it all, although to be fair he does work 9-5. I have been nagging him to read the Culture Clash for weeks/months, but it's gathering dust on his bedside table.

Obviously, having a dog in the Middle East is a massive bind - dogs are not welcome here, so you can't take them ANYWHERE and the only place I can walk her is on a remote beach half an hour to an hour's drive from our house. It was particularly challenging over the summer, as you can imagine!