Talk

Advanced search

Dog coat- Needed or not?

(26 Posts)
tooearlytobeup Sun 11-Sep-11 13:15:15

I have a nearly 14 week old Springer Spaniel. He is walked in all weathers, and will sometimes be outside with me for up to 2 hours when my son is playing football.
Last week I had another dog owner saying I was cruel because it rained, and he was not wearing a coat ( I did point out he was wearing a fur one)

I always thought they were only needed for fashion accesories toy dogs, old or ill dogs, or the very thin like greyhounds.

Which of us is right? If I do need to get one, which sort is best? My kids want to buy this blush

He is perfectly healthy, and does not seem bothered

As you can tell, I am a novice

Tchootnika Sun 11-Sep-11 13:19:14

cruel because it rained? .... to a spaniel? I don't think so!

Sure, if we have another winter as cold as the last one then a coat might be a good idea, but it would be a very unusual spaniel who has ihsoos with a spot of rain.

frenchdawn Sun 11-Sep-11 13:22:43

We have a waterproof one for our fleecy labradoodle as if they get wet then stand around they get very cold.
I swore dog coats were for idiots and then I bought one.

coccyx Sun 11-Sep-11 13:24:05

Think maybe when its really cold, but not in September

CoffeeIsMyFriend Sun 11-Sep-11 13:30:07

I dont think you need a dog coat for a fully grown spaniel in the rain, but a 14 wk old puppy needs to get dried off, as do all dogs otherwise when standing around they get cold, so one of those teeny microfibre dog towels in your pocket might be a good idea.

No need for a coat.

tooearlytobeup Sun 11-Sep-11 13:32:20

Glad I'm not insane! Forgot to mention she has a fashion accessory Bishon Frise who is not allowed out unless it is dry so he doesn't get dirty, so coming at things from a different point of view I think!

OK, so if I need one for the very cold weather (as he will still be out with me) which sort is best? Waterproof type fleece or knitted?