Talk

Advanced search

Paw pets put down in crisis

(13 Posts)
chickchickchicken Thu 04-Aug-11 20:16:14

there is an article in my local paper today saying that the local animal shelter is going to shut their waiting list and cannot accept any more dogs.

the manager says "every day i have got a waiting list of 40 dogs. It is frightening. If there is no room at shelters there is only one option, to put them down. It is a hard situation. We really need to neuter more animals and I think we should stop breeding for about 10 years because there is no-one to take them."

a co-ordinator at a separate local cats rescue states "We are bogged down, we just cannot move at the moment. I have been doing this for 13 years and this is the worst I have ever known it"

this just makes me so sad. if we as a society love animals why is anyone buying dogs when there are dogs being pts every single day through lack of a home.

chickchickchicken Thu 04-Aug-11 20:17:04

meant to add "Paw pets put down in crisis" is the title of the article in paper. will try and find a link

Empusa Thu 04-Aug-11 20:17:11

It's heartbreaking isn't it! Wish I had the room and money to take more dogs on sad

lachesis Thu 04-Aug-11 20:19:14

I've never seen so many unneutered male dogs as I've seen in the UK, tbh. Some people still seem so stuck in the dark ages with regards to myths surrounding spaying and neutering, such as that it stunts the growth of kittens or pups if it's done early, that it's healthy for a cat to have a litter before spaying, that it's emasculating, etc.

And the ones who pay the price for all this ignorance are the unwanted animals sad.

DogsBestFriend Thu 04-Aug-11 20:21:44

Very well said.

This is the situation we are faced with daily when trying to find rescue spaces for pound dogs before their 7 days are up and they face the vet's needle. So many rescues - the one I help at included - just haven't any room at all.