Talk

Advanced search

Just taken in a dog and need advice

(6 Posts)
busyprocrastinating Tue 02-Aug-11 21:29:33

hi, I have just taken in a 8 month old lab and as a virgin dog owner I could do with some advice. So far she seems to be settling well, is great with dd, walks well on lead and eating well.
However she is really clingy. When we went to bed last night she cried and howled and pooed at the door until we let her upstairs (I really wanted upstairs as a dog free zone but not as much as I needed my sleep last night especially as dd is teething as well) anyway everytime I have gone upstairs today she has been the same and pooed and did two wees at the door, despite the fact I'd only taken her out a minute before and I was only gone long enough to nip to the loo.
Can anyone give me advice? She came from a loving home so hasn't been mistreated in the past

MotherJack Tue 02-Aug-11 21:56:25

I am not an expert by any means, but my experience in this is that she might well have come from a loving home, but now she has been removed from that loving home and is probably experiencing separation anxiety.... she has no idea that she will ever see you again when you go to the toilet as she can't see you anymore.

I think that you need to absolutely ignore her on your return from the toilet, silently clean up any mess... no telling off, no bad words... no huffing... nothing and do not pay her any attention until you have cleared it up and/or made yourself a drink (or whatever) and then pay her attention. It IS very hard when they are wagging their tails furiously at you and trying very hard to get your attention, but you have to do it.