Talk

Advanced search

Do all dogs like a doggy pal?

(10 Posts)
anchovies Sat 11-Jun-11 02:17:48

Just asking as we are considering re-homing a buddy for our 18 month lab. He isn't too fussed about making friends with dogs though and can be anxious when around, loud dominant dogs. So do all dogs like a friend at home?

MotherJack Sat 11-Jun-11 09:20:46

Some dogs just like to be by themselves. Not saying that's the case for yours as I'm no expert on dog behaviour, but I do know not all dogs like to have pals in the house.

DooinMeCleanin Sat 11-Jun-11 09:24:18

It really depends on your dog. Most dogs would love the company, dogs are very sociable animals, but just like people you will get a few who are grumpy old gits and like to be alone.

If your going to a rescue they will guide you in finding a good match to your lab.

anchovies Sat 11-Jun-11 09:30:42

I have contacted the rescue that we got our lab from and like last time they are keen to find us a good match and suggested we start by having a visit from the lady who did her home check with her young male dogs to see how ours reacts to having them in the house. No idea how this will go but definitely seems like a good starting point!

Just not sure whether a dog's reaction to other dogs (when at the park for example) is representative of how they would feel about a dog at home. If that were the case our dog would definitely not be interested in a friend at home! It's hard because life is easy at the moment, but if our dog would like the company I would be happy to rescue another.

DooinMeCleanin Sat 11-Jun-11 09:34:53

No, it's not representative at all.

minimu1 Sat 11-Jun-11 11:38:49