Talk

Advanced search

Dog first aid advice needed

(7 Posts)
schilke Mon 06-Jun-11 15:43:16

My dog went for a mad hurdle through the woods earlier and appeared with a bleeding front paw. She has cut the tops of 2 toes on her front right paw. One cut is about 0.75cm and the other one a bit smaller.

She has cleaned them and they have stopped bleeding. The cuts are quite deep. Will they heal on their own? She is limping slightly and a bit subdued. She's our first dog and we've got away with no cuts for 2.5 years!! She does keep on licking at it - is that ok?

d0gFace Mon 06-Jun-11 15:55:27

Did you clean it?

mdoodledoo Mon 06-Jun-11 16:02:30

Do you mean on the top of the toes - like if we cut above our nails? I'm not an expert but these are the questions I'd be asking myself if one of my dogs had what you've described:

1) It all depends on how deep and clean they are really -if they're really deep then stitches may be necessary. She'll be licking to get them clean and help with the pain a bit (something pain relieving in saliva I think).

2) What you've described isn't long so it doesn't feel like a drama from that perspective - but how deep are they and if there's any debris inside - if you can see bone then get her to the vet no question - for a stitch and maybe antibiotics to make sure she doesn't get an infection.

3) Are the cuts on a bit of the paw which is going to be constantly moving and reopening the wounds? Does it need some sort of strapping to keep the skin together as they heal - just for a day or two - and how are you going to keep that on a young dog who'll want to bite it off again?

My boy skidded to a halt on concrete a few weeks ago and wore down his hind claws to the pulp in the middle - it bled loads and looked scary but after a rinse and a good licking by him it was all fine and no ill effects.

schilke Mon 06-Jun-11 16:22:33