Talk

Advanced search

complete novice wanting advice on getting a labrador...

(29 Posts)
allag Mon 30-May-11 12:25:48

we live in a ground floor apartment (it's large - around 1700 sq ft) which has a back garden and faces the Park (literally two seconds' walk). We have a four year old and a nineteen month old and we have wanted to get a dog for a long time, and now feel it would be a good time. My DH has had dogs all his life when growing up (parents had collies - although it was in a large country house in Dorset) and i have had a couple of little mongrels so i guess we are not total strangers to it all. The thing is, i have always envisaged a small(ish) dog, whereas DH has his heart set on a labrador - he adores them. I must say I have always loved them too and they sound perfect for a family with children. I guess my concerns are the fact that we are still in a flat, in central london (albeit practically in the park) and that labs are a bit bigger than the dog I envisaged getting. Could anyone please advise on the pros and cons - any advice on the things we need to consider would be hugely appreciated. DH also would consider a beagle, although it sounds as though they miight bark to much for it to be practiceable in a flat. Thank you very much in advance

allag Mon 30-May-11 12:26:48

PS should mention that loads of people in our flat have dogs - so I don't think that there would be a problem with having a dog as such. Thanks

Labradors are large and clumsy and will knock over/walk on your dc's, especially the youngest, a lot.

They need loads of exercise and training to keep them happy.

Beagles are terribly hard work and I couldn't reccomend them less in your situation.

I would think a smallish, adult, very child friendly dog would be your best bet.

allag Mon 30-May-11 12:42:33

thank you. Would anyone be able to suggest any smaller breeds that you think might work?

Elibean Mon 30-May-11 13:03:03