Talk

Advanced search

Is she or isn't she pregnant?

(9 Posts)
Solo2 Thu 02-Dec-10 18:31:31

The mother of our puppy-to-be who was mated 3 weeks ago had an early scan yesterday and the vet doesn't think she's pregnant.sad However, according to the breeder, she's definitely showing signs of pregnancy.confused I don't know whether to be gutted or hopeful?

f she's not showing any puppies/ heartbeats on a scan, would that mean she's definitely NOT PG? They're going to re-scan next week which is the time they should be scanning at 4 weeks post mating.

Any vets and knowledgeable dog people on here - is it normal to NOT be able to detect the pregnancy this early - or does it look like our puppy-to-be isn't going to be - yet?

Also, in my ignorance, I assumed that if a bitch in heat is mated with a stud dog, then she'd definitely get PG but it is more like with humans - when all the timing can be right - but it just doesn't happen?

Joolyjoolyjoo Thu 02-Dec-10 18:41:13

I'm a vet. We usually have a feel at around the 3-week mark because the foetuses are easier to feel at this stage- they feel like little golf balls!- whereas later they become longer and flatter and less obvious. Scanning is usually a good way to detect pregnancies, but with both palpation and scanning puppies can be missed, especially if they are high up in the uterus/ tucked up under the ribcage. Well worth repeating the scan in a week or so, I'd say.

What breed of dog is she- some breeds definitely more prone to "missed- puppy" syndrome than others!