Talk

Advanced search

I'm watching The Gilmore Girls from the beginning and I'm wondering...

(24 Posts)
dustyanswer Sun 02-Apr-17 16:45:09

...is one meant to find the mother really irritating?

I'm new to it & am about halfway through the first season on Netflix. I love it but she (Lorelai, mother of Rory) is soooo bloody annoying! She is unbelievably narcissistic - whenever the grandmother tries to talk to Rory, L has a quick-witted sulk & makes it all about her, and there's her general self-conscious goofiness. And don't get me started on the way she eats!

But I have a horrible feeling we're supposed to think her completely adorable...

SaltyMyDear Sun 02-Apr-17 16:49:00

I agree! I don't like lorelai and often feel far more sympathy for Emily than for her.

Her one liners are generally rude not funny

And I really don't like the way everyone thinks Rory is perfect.

But I think lots of people like Lorelai....

CorporalNobbyNobbs Sun 02-Apr-17 16:49:43

She gets better but yes she can be super annoying!

dustyanswer Sun 02-Apr-17 16:53:57

I'm glad I'm not alone! I thought maybe I was just jealous because she is young & thin with lovely hair & always has witty repartee to hand, whereas I am an old, tired dullard grin

TeaAddict235 Mon 03-Apr-17 15:28:29

No, you're right, Lorelei is annoying, and in fact I like Emily too, and the dad. I find Rory boring and should probably stop watching it at all, but it helps the ironing to be done quicker!

Msqueen33 Mon 03-Apr-17 15:31:01

I enjoyed it when I was younger. Now early 30s with three kids I don't find her as amusing. More dramatic and selfish.

mayaknew Mon 03-Apr-17 15:36:38

I watched it years ago then watched it all again recently before the new episodes came out.