loader

Talk

Advanced search

re teens and housework and pets

(9 Posts)
mrsjammi Fri 06-Nov-09 11:24:10

Message withdrawn

Mcdreamy Fri 06-Nov-09 11:28:25

How about calling a "family meeting" express your frustrations and get them to come up with the solutions.

mrsjammi Fri 06-Nov-09 11:40:04

Message withdrawn

Mcdreamy Fri 06-Nov-09 12:14:33

Maybe you have to be a bit harder then (my eldest is 6 so I have no experience of this btw). How about stop doing his washing and/or ironing until he can do simple chores like carrying the clean clothes to peoples rooms - not a lot to ask in exchange for freshly laundered clothes.

inthesticks Fri 06-Nov-09 15:46:11

Sounds to me as though this isn't just really about the dog?
More like the whole running of the family? Have you been together long? Have things got worse or did they never do much around the house? Who did everything before you?
Is it the SCs pet rather than yours?
I think the family meeting sounds like a good idea but you must have DH onside first.
Explain how much every one works or studies outside the house and see if they can understand that you can't do everything. I think people are often more willing to do chores if they are allowed to express a preference.For example in our house DS1 hates cleaning the bath but doesn't mind putting the rubbish out.

Could you pay for some help? It sounds as though you have a lot on your plate and if you could afford to pay even for 2 or 3 hours a week cleaning help it would really take the pressure off.

mrsjammi Fri 06-Nov-09 16:19:01

Message withdrawn

inthesticks Sat 07-Nov-09 13:05:28

mrsjammi - have now read the other thread and there are lots of great ideas on there.
You said you might consider a cleaner when you go back to work.