Talk

Advanced search

Any office workers give my DS17 a few pointers please

(23 Posts)
BG2015 Fri 21-Apr-17 12:51:02

DS17 left school last summer, tried college and hated it. He left in November and has been trying to get an apprenticeship in IT ever since.

He's been for about 6 interviews and just keeps getting knocked back. Anyway after loads of coaching from me he went for an interview last week and did really well. The MD really liked him and was impressed with his knowledge of the company and his enthusiasm. The job is to keep the social media side of things up and running, helping with IT systems and supporting the sales/admin team.

He's been invited for a taster day next Wednesday in the office. They have some activities planned for him to do but I'm totally stumped as to how to help him further. I'm a primary school teacher and have never worked in an office environment.Apart from making tea and coffee what else can he be seen to be doing.

Thanks in advance

FusionChefGeoff Fri 21-Apr-17 13:12:36

Take (and use!) a notebook - it looks keen and committed. Also encourages people to get him involved as they will have faith that he is listening etc. Can also refer back and ask questions afterwards.

Hopefully they will have a plan for him - but if he's feeling a bit abandoned, I'd say be proactive and ask if he can shadow particular people from each dept for an hour e.g. 'I'm a bit quiet here and no-one needs any help, is there anyone in the IT department I could shadow for a bit perhaps?'

Otherwise, be friendly, smile and again, be pro-active. Is there anything I can help with? Anything I can proof read for you? Anything need tidying?! And yes, tea / coffee / food run always appreciated!

BG2015 Fri 21-Apr-17 13:18:41

Fusion, that's brilliant! I'll get him a notebook, that's a great idea and have actually seen student teachers writing loads down (that soon stops lol) but definitely shows he's committed.