Talk

Advanced search

DS age 14 drank alcohol on school trip

(15 Posts)
Marmar76 Sat 01-Apr-17 23:13:30

Hi. I'm new to mumsnet but have joined to ask for advice about my son who is 14 and the youngest of three.
He is currently on a school trip overseas and I received a message from the staff to say he'd been drinking alcohol. How do I deal with this? He's due home tomorrow.
For information - for the past year we've been having problems with him (not sure if he is struggling with general teen angst or if there's more to it) but he works hard and school and enjoys sports.
Any advice would be appreciated.

LornaD40 Sat 01-Apr-17 23:23:35

Are the school sanctioning him for it?

Marmar76 Sat 01-Apr-17 23:30:17

I don't know yet. As they're overseas I just got a brief text message saying he'd been drinking alcohol and that the alcohol was disposed of and he was safe. It's now Easter holidays so I don't know if there will be some sort of punishment next term.
Am not looking forward to seeing the teachers tomorrow when I pick him up!

AndNoneForGretchenWieners Sat 01-Apr-17 23:33:05

I think it would depend on the amount and circumstances. FWIW I drank quite a bit on a German exchange, aged 15. My parents were very relaxed though and I grew up thinking of alcohol as normal (but not excessive amounts) so I have let my son drink whenever he has asked, which is quite rare. He doesn't go mad and is very sensible.

LovingLola Sat 01-Apr-17 23:34:45

When mine went on school trips it was made very clear before hand that alcohol consumption and drug use would be very severely sanctioned. Have you been in contact with your son?

llangennith Sat 01-Apr-17 23:35:35

They're duty bound to tell you and you'll need to give him a bollocking but it's not the end of the world.

TitaniasCloset Sat 01-Apr-17 23:36:41

My dd did this at that age. Definitely punish him when he comes home and have the talk, but don't stress yourself too much.

Marmar76 Sat 01-Apr-17 23:36:53