Talk

Advanced search

Monitoring use of internet

(20 Posts)
Melly1973 Tue 09-Aug-16 09:37:25

Hi,

I'm new to all of this! Having prematurely congratulated myself on doing a ( fairly) good job of bringing up my 2 boys, my eldest has now hit 13! Any thoughts that I had on them needing me more as pre school children have been dispelled ... Preschool was nothing compared to teens and we're only just getting started!

I just wonder how/if other parents keep tabs on their kids' use of social media and game related chat?

My 13 yr old is reasonably sensible and level-headed, or so I thought. However, during the past few months we've had issues with his use of Instagram where he had had a fall out with some friends and ended up using some foul language (I know kids are kids but it was the c-word on this occasion, which is a complete no no in my book). It was actually another parent who let me know, so I sat my son down and we had a talk about it, he knew what he'd done was totally wrong and we deleted Instagram until I felt he could use it responsibly.

Yesterday I needed the I-pad for something and Clash of Clans chat happened to be up, and there were again, some comments that he'd written which were completely inappropriate. Silly and highly immature, but inappropriate.

I was cross and deleted all the clash of clan, boom beach etc games from the I-psd and asked him to unlock his I-pod as my intention was to delete the games from it as well. He refused and burst into tears, this continued for the next 10 minutes with him still refusing to put the code in to unlock it. He was sobbing that there was nothing in it, and that he'd just been joking about with his friends.