Talk

Advanced search

my 18yo son failed 2 courses in first year university

(8 Posts)
stressedtothemax1 Wed 31-Dec-14 05:11:29

hello - this is my first time on your forum - i am from canada however while looking for answers stumbled across this site... my son has failed 2 courses in his first year of university - he is away from home for the first time and although i know it is salvageable - i am so worried that he will not put forth the effort and work required to do so... i am trying desperately not to over react as i don't want him to get down on himself - but i am not sure if he understands the seriousness of the situation - at the start of the semester he was doing well -calling and texting home his success and about 5weeks into the semester - when i would ask if he received any results he would say no, not yet etc. he admitted to me last week that he just stopped doing the work and thought he would be able to salvage his grades with the exams - he is able to retake one of the courses this coming semester and he has already registered for that - but i guess what i am looking for is advise/and or suggestions on how to get him to stay organized and focused so that he will be successful this coming semester so that he can remain in school for next year...he says he wants to remain in school but perhaps in a different program

wundawoman Wed 31-Dec-14 05:22:56

Sorry to hear this - it is very stressful when our kids struggle at school/college/uni. However I think you have several options....

Firstly, your son may just have had the wake up call he needs - he failed 2 subjects that he can retake and maybe he will learn from that. Speak to the coordinator about your son's options.

Is your son studying the right course? Many first year students swap courses and find something more suitable for them. It is sometimes hard for young people to decide the correct course straight out of school.