Talk

Advanced search

Facebook question

(8 Posts)
eatyourveg Sat 04-May-13 17:20:55

ds has split up with gf - he has asked me to change the password on his fb account so I can deactivated it and he won't be tempted to reactivate it and look at it. I've done that now but don't know if that deletes the comments he's posted on other people's accounts and also if it deletes all tagged photos of him on her account?

I personally think it is better to change his privacy settings but he seems to think she will look him up via mutual friends' accounts so wants to disappear completely for the time being.

Twinklestarstwinklestars Sat 04-May-13 17:22:27

It will just delete the tags I think they photos won't go as they're hers, and it might just say 'Facebook user' on comments/messages he's posted.

usualsuspect Sat 04-May-13 17:23:15

Why didn't he just block her?

usualsuspect Sat 04-May-13 17:24:22

His comments wouldn't show up on mutual friends walls if he blocked her.

kaumana Sat 04-May-13 17:31:19

Even if you block the person if you have mutual friends then there is nothing to stop friends showing the blocked person your page or telling them what your status updates are. So I can understand him wanting to "disappear" for a while.

eatyourveg Sat 04-May-13 17:43:06

Like kaumana says - she would look him up via their many mutual friends. he also doesn't trust himself not to unblock her. break up was not something either of them wanted but situation was messy and ds didn't really have a choice.

If he blocks her, do past comments he has made on her account stay?

kaumana Sat 04-May-13 21:01:32

If you block a person, comments and photos from that person will disappear from your page. I'm not sure what happens on the other one.

flow4 Sun 05-May-13 10:08:19

Blocking simply hides people from each other, no-one else. So mutual friends can see everything each person writes, but they can't see each other. Two people who have blocked each other can comment on the same thread, and be part of the same conversation, but they may not realise it. Also, blocking does not affect past content - anything that is there already will stay, unless it's on a person's own wall and they specifically remove it. However, if your DS blocks his ex, she will not be able to look him up or see anything he posts or writes from now on.

Deleting an account does not delete any past comments or tags. In some ways it gives a person less control, because although they can't be tagged any more, they can no longer remove past tags.

A better option might be to disable his account. This has the same effect as deleting it, but is easier to do, and isn't permanent.

There is nothing your DS can do about his ex-girlfriend's FB content. If she writes about him or posts pics, there is nothing he can do - exactly like he couldn't stop her keeping a diary, going through boxes of old photos of him, or talking about him to her friends.

One question for your DS to consider is whether this girl is so important that she's worth losing all his other social FB contacts? She's going to continue to influence his life, if he misses out on social chat, invitations to parties, etc... The end of a relationship is painful and difficult, and deleting his FB account is part of wanting it all to stop, but it's almost certainly not worth it in the long run.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now