Talk

Advanced search

How do I convince friend...

(7 Posts)
malinois Sun 16-Oct-11 17:10:36

...that she should not buy her DS17 a motorcycle?

Background: I have been riding bikes for over 20 years and had a mental 2-stroke 250 at that age. Bikes are my main form of transport and I rarely drive.

Friend is actually elder sister of a friend and DS17 has decided to take his CRB and she has agreed. This I find astonishing as he is not allowed to do anything remotely risky: ferried everywhere by car due to risks of public transport, not allowed on school ski trip, not allowed to stay overnight at friends etc. He wasn't even allowed to come mountain biking with us when we took pity on him.

She thinks that a bike will give him some independence hmm. And here lies the rub; I don't believe the lad has any concept of hazard or risk assessment.

I have tried to explain this to her but she just points out that I was riding bikes at the same age. Sure, but I was also rock climbing, caving and doing lots of other risky stuff that meant my risk radar was extremely finely tuned.

So what do I say to her? I really don't want to give her lots of scary stats about young biker casualties as I truly believe that sensible and aware kids are fine on bikes.

I also don't want to overly criticise her for mollycoddling her lad.

So how can I tell her that her DS should not be on a bike without sounding like a hypocrite?

GnomeDePlume Sun 16-Oct-11 18:03:42

Er.. I'm afraid for the reasons you have given you are being a hypocrite. I am sure you believed you had special powers when you were 17 but so do all 17 year olds.

17 year olds are dangerous, they dont have the same sense of consequences that someone in their 30s has. They dont have the same sense of their own mortality (which is why you were rock climbing etc etc).