Advanced search

JESUS CHRIST....anyone else got a reluctant 16yr old GCSE student

(377 Posts)
TheSecondComing Mon 07-Mar-11 17:01:21

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

TheSecondComing Mon 07-Mar-11 18:28:31

geraldinetheluckygoat Mon 07-Mar-11 18:31:27

god, what a nightmare. Could you make her do her homework downstairs?! So you can see if she's actually doing it?

geraldinetheluckygoat Mon 07-Mar-11 18:32:57

Sorry, i have no experience of teenagers yet. However I was a bit like this at gcse level and didnt take them seriously at all. I did settle down for a levels though, I think once I realised you cant just blag your way through...

nickschick Mon 07-Mar-11 18:34:13

I think there is a wide range of students studying methods ......ds1 studied profusely each evening he revised for hours we had to practically beg him to stop - ds2 year 10 really doesnt give a toss sad I try I try vv hard to help him see the reality- he doesnt care.

Ds1 in year 10 was also very lazy I showed him average wages from supermarkets and our grocery bills and utility bills and asked him how long hed be able to afford his gio goi labels earning that money?

Ds2 hasnt risen to it hmm if you find a solution please inbox me grin.

Have you tried bribery? sitting outside the jobcentre or indeed even going in and seeing what jobs are available? what qualifications she needs for college further ed?

Ds1 will finish his A levels soon and is off to uni in Sept.....Ds2 I dread to think sad.

nickschick Mon 07-Mar-11 18:35:11

Ds1 has just told me to tell you to tell her <phew> that the best unis want As at gcse aside from Alevels.

TheSecondComing Mon 07-Mar-11 18:39:14

Goblinchild Mon 07-Mar-11 18:39:19

You Are Not Alone.smile
I keep thinking that even if he ends up NEET, it will be so much less stressful.