Talk

Advanced search

Newbie introduction and seeking advice. ( long )

(9 Posts)
nimbusgb Thu 20-Jan-11 12:50:40

Hi

First time posting here. So I'll introduce myself before launching into the 'challenge' we have on our hands.

I'm the Dad; Mom and I are married and have been together for 28 years although married for only 19 of those. We are ex South African having moved here about 13 years ago now. Although I was born here I spent most of my life in South Africa and it was still 'home' until perhaps a couple of years ago.

What might be called middle class, ( bottom end of it given the current economic climate! ), well settled, homeowners , 2 Kids. Eldest, a daughter just turned 18 and our son just turned 15. I work in IT, never had the chance of an university education but have managed to do OK. My wife is a qualified pharmacist ( with a BSc ) in South Africa but gave it up when we moved here in favour of more unskilled jobs so that she could be at home when the children were home from school. we have a boat in Greece and have holidays abroad probably twice a year. We are certainly not as badly off as a hell of a lot of people ( there but for the grace ..... )

We live in rural Sussex and consider ourselves very fortunate to have found our home and to have settled where we have in a clean, crime free and largely quiet Sussex village.

We are I suppose on the conservative side of the parenting model and are complimented on our kids behaviour and manners in company and when on their own and interacting with adults. Both children are, or were doing well at school until recently.

And therein is the nub of the problem.