Talk

Advanced search

Pocket Money/Allowance

(25 Posts)
Maglet422 Thu 30-Sep-10 18:54:46

Hi. I'm new to Mumsnet. Just wondered how much pocket money is a reasonable amount for a 13 year-old girl?

toomanytimes Thu 30-Sep-10 21:36:29

Depends on your circumtances but I have a 13yr old D who gets £10.00 a week and £10.00 top up credit a month but we are a 2 income family. There has been a lot on this debate recently and on several previous threads. The above is about average and I would not look at giving anymore. She has to buy her own make up etc out of this and leisure actities. We only buy essentials (toiletries). Hope this helps.

cory Thu 30-Sep-10 21:55:02

My 13yo gets £13/month, but we do pay for drama classes on top of this. We keep her with basic toiletries and basic clothes (school uniform and very basic out of school wardrobe), but if she wants more than that it comes out of her allowance.

BelligerentGhoul Thu 30-Sep-10 21:58:41

Dd2 is 13 and gets 30 pounds a month plus 10 phone top up every month-six weeks. She buys non-essential clothes (eg: she pays for silly t-shirts but we'd pay for new jeans if hers were too short), CDs, magazines etc out of that. We buy toiletries (she doesn't wear make up yet) and will sometimes give a bit extra if she's going to the cinema or something.

DandyDan Fri 01-Oct-10 13:36:53

We would give £4 per week, but we would pay for her clothes, club subscriptions and basic toiletries. And £10/month top-up on the phone. We would give extra if there was a trip to the cinema/bus fare to town (£6 return).

cat64 Fri 01-Oct-10 15:02:37

Message withdrawn

Maglet422 Fri 01-Oct-10 15:40:11

Thank you all for your offerings. I can see there's a huge variation, but it helps to know where the middle of the road is likely to be!

inthesticks Fri 01-Oct-10 17:02:27

DS1 14 gets £20 a month and DS2 12 gets £10 a month.