Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Working in healthcare and having the vaccination.

(16 Posts)
Maize Tue 03-Nov-09 17:20:38

I work directly with immunocompromised people in a hospital environment.

We have been told that the vaccinations will be starting soon for us because we fit into the priority group.

I am so unsure about getting it, do I have to? But then I feel guilty about not having it because of the risk to the patients

Any advice? Thanks.

MummyToucan Tue 03-Nov-09 20:39:24

Hi, I also work in healthcare and am pregnant - I have to say my main reservations have been because I'm pregnant, but I've decided to have the jab.
It's a personal decision and I'm pretty sure you can't be forced.
I found talking to my boss and also occupational health very useful in helping me make up my mind.
If you haven't looked already the NHS website gives loads of info on the vaccine, but a personal chat with an occ health nurse or your GP might help more - it did with me.
HTH

MavisEnderby Tue 03-Nov-09 20:42:47

Hi,also work in similar sit and have been advised to have both flu jabs.Am going to.Ward manager is muttering doom and gloom scenarios re swine flu and the consensus is we need to have it.If you are really unsure don't think you are forced to though.

IwishIwasmoreorganised Tue 03-Nov-09 20:45:45

I'm a physio working an acute medical wards and I have reservations too.

I started a thread here

In the end I didn't go for my jab today, really because I couldn't face taking my 2 ds's into work on my day off, and we're going away this weekend and I don't want to be feeling rotten.

Nobody can make you have the jab, but we are being strongly encouraged to do so - often unfairly using the "think of your patients" line to sway us imo.

stinkypinky Tue 03-Nov-09 20:51:02