Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Swine Flu and Pregnancy - help!

(5 Posts)
xfingerscrossedx Mon 13-Jul-09 21:01:58

Hi, please could someone give me a sensible answer to this? I'm a secondary school teacher and people (kids and teachers) are starting to go down with swine flu/suspected swine flu. I am 10 weeks pregnant and school have been reluctant to tell me who these people are, which is worrying me as I'm not sure if I've had contact with them! I rang a helpline and the woman on there was almost hysterical telling me that I had to demand to know/ring GP straight away/don't get fobbed off etc.... Very helpful when I'm already feeling pretty tense about it.

Anyway, I eventually found out who it was and have had nothing to do with the pupil in question. However, now staff are starting to go down with it I don't know what to do. Caught between wanting to turn round and say sorry I'm not coming in and not wanting to be a raging hypochondriac. I know there are anti-viral drugs you can take, but I really don't want to get swine flu in the first place! Any advice would be great!

excitedandscared Mon 13-Jul-09 22:59:06

I'm also a pregnant teacher with swine flu confirmed in our school- a boy in my class in fact.

My GP told me tamiflu is not to be taken if pregnant but there's an alternative that can be taken when, and only when, I get symptoms. He recommended I 'keep calm and carry on' but sign myself off if I start to feel unwell. There's so much of it around, it's impossible to try and hide from it any more and my midwife didn't seem too concerned when I turned up for my antenatal class.