Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Any 'Healthy People' had the jab?

(22 Posts)
Lynnejh Wed 12-Jan-11 11:57:45

DH was offered his through work and i am thinking of getting myself and DS done(9 years old)

I am not high risk to be offered on NHS but am the sole carer and panicking if i do get it with no friends/family around to help.

Part me thinks go for it and get us both done but feel guilty with the NHS shortage.

Any 'Healthy' adults and children had the vacine?

bubbleymummy Wed 12-Jan-11 12:21:59

We haven't and wouldn't. ( me, DH and two DSs)

Littlepumpkinpie Wed 12-Jan-11 12:39:32

I had mine last october and do so every year. I work in a shop and serve the sickly general public who cough and splutter at me all the time. Its hard to avoid to for me I have it done at the start of flu season.
This year I paid to have my DCs done privatly because they are under 16 one travels via public transport daily.
I and the eldest DD(20years old) had ours in Tesco. Dh had his done at the surgery and I paid £50 each for my boys to get it done. Only Dh is the one that needed it the rest of us are HEALTHY.

Imarriedafrog Wed 12-Jan-11 12:41:43

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Elibean Wed 12-Jan-11 13:47:06

Yes, but I had it done ages ago - pre shortages (in fact, major surpluses as take-up was so low at the time).

All of my family bar me have asthma - didn't want to bring it home and infect them. Also, I had (necessary/NHS recommended) seasonal flu jabs for years because of liver disease - don't have the disease anymore, but appreciated being flu-free, tbh.

Elibean Wed 12-Jan-11 13:47:32

I think 'sole carer' would make me want to do it, too.

PassionKiss Wed 12-Jan-11 13:47:58