Talk

Advanced search

Trainee Child Psychotherapist seeks pregnant mother-to-be in North London/Broxbourne/Cheshunt area.

(1 Post)
andreaarulnayagamstudent Thu 16-Feb-17 13:55:30

Hello all,

My name is Andrea Arulnayagam and I am studying to be a Child and Adolescent Psychotherapist. As part of the training, I have to complete 60 hours of Mother and Baby Observations over the course of 18 months. This involves having a unique and privileged experience of witnessing a mother with her newborn baby in their home setting. The aspect of learning about bonding and attachment at this time is such a crucial focus in the work of a Trainee Child and Adolescent Psychotherapist. I am currently seeking an expectant mother (due between March -May) who would be interested in this experience.

My role will be as a quiet observer in order to gain an understanding and insight into early physical and emotional development and attachment during this precious interaction. I understand that this is a huge and unusual request. I have been informed that mothers involved in the past have enjoyed sharing this unique journey, and having a witness to these treasured moments has brought further insight to the experience of motherhood.

If you know of anyone in the North London/Broxbourne/Cheshunt area who is due to give birth over the next 1-3 months and would be willing to participate in these observations, or you yourself are in this position and would be willing to, then I and the profession of Child Psychotherapy would be eternally grateful if you could please pass on my details below/contact me:

E-mail address: ar.arulnayagam@hotmail.co.uk

The organisation I am training with is called Terapia and their contact number is 0208 201 6101, if you have any questions about the course. I will be able to forward you a letter from Terapia, which contains further information, should you be interested in participating.