Talk

Advanced search

Where do you go when your child is unwell?

(5 Posts)
MRBallard Mon 19-Dec-16 14:42:06

I'm a doctor working in child health in London, and I am trying to understand how parents and guardians access healthcare for their children when they are unwell.

There are so many different services out there (like GPs, urgent care centres, accident and emergency), but how do you feel about using them? What kind of things are most and least important to you?

I'm really interested to hear what you have to say about it all.

For example:
-How do you choose whether to go to your GP or to an urgent care center?
-What are your thoughts on the NHS 111 telephone service?
-Do you think you're more likely to go somewhere if you have been there before?

Any discussions or comments would be really helpful smile, thank you so much!

user1486649881 Fri 10-Feb-17 10:41:25

Action for Sick Children carried out a survey on this which can be found on their website.

buckyou Fri 10-Feb-17 10:53:41

Go to the GP if we can (in GP hours), if not I ring 111 and see what they tell me to do.

I'm not really a fan of the 111 service though, you seem to end up going through lots of irrelevant questions with lots of different people.

challengedvertically Fri 10-Feb-17 11:02:27