Talk

Advanced search

Healthy Ready meals for children

(34 Posts)
mimi0608 Thu 01-Jan-15 21:20:31

Hello all,

I am Mimi and I am a student innovator.

I have a new business idea for creating Healthy ready meals for children.

The dishes will also be different for Girls and for Boys, because a study has shown that Girls and Boys at different ages require different nutritional intake.

I believe that this product will have the potential to help to fight obesity and will give you the extra help you need on a busy day.

I would like to ask you, what are your views on a product like this to be differentiating between the sexes? Would you buy a meal that was specifically created for the needs of your little girl or a boy? Or would you think its inappropriate?

I thank you upfront for all your responses which will be highly appreciated.

Sirzy Thu 01-Jan-15 21:22:46

I would think it was a daft marketing ploy!

Zamboni Thu 01-Jan-15 21:26:44

I wouldn't buy because it seems ridiculous and also because DD and DS (3 and 2) always want the same anyway.

BMO Thu 01-Jan-15 21:28:08

Different meals for boys and girls sounds ridiculous I'm afraid.

You can already get plenty of kids ready meals.

Longtalljosie Thu 01-Jan-15 21:28:39

It would really annoy me. Is the different intake because boys are on average a tad taller? What about shorter boys / taller girls?

Pico2 Thu 01-Jan-15 21:28:50

I'd want to see the study. But we don't really buy ready meals for DD.

Blankiefan Thu 01-Jan-15 21:29:18

If people care a lot about nutrition, they're going to home cook most of their child's food. They'd have to care a lot / be very into nutrition to understand what differences girls & boys have at each stage. I've never heard about this despite doing a reasonable amount of weaning research...