Talk

Advanced search

Men in childcare settings

(11 Posts)
shell86f Sat 20-Dec-14 17:19:15

As a university student I am doing research on the low levels of men in the childcare sector despite government campaigns to encourage them into the workforce.
As society plays a large role in the countries policy making it is important that I include the views of parents in this research, all information gained will be confidential and some key recurring themes will be discussed in the main findings.
As a parent what is your view of men in childcare?
thank you for your participation

honeyistoosweet Sat 20-Dec-14 17:23:32

I am a single mum with a 2 year old DS. He goes to a nursery where they sometimes have a male bank worker in his room when they are short staffed. My son adores him and I am always pleased to see a male role model for him.

TiggyD Sat 20-Dec-14 17:24:20

There have been quite a few thread about this in the past. The search facility will be your friend.

Also try here for the 2003 report "Changing the Gender Mix in Early Education and Childcare".

TiggyD Sat 20-Dec-14 17:45:46

Now this has been moved to a Mumsnet backwater the search button seems even more important.

SoMuchForSubtlety Sun 21-Dec-14 20:20:26

Statistically, child molesters are far more likely to be men. Yes I know not all men are like that. But I feel more comfortable with female childcare workers.

StetsonsAreCool Sun 21-Dec-14 20:30:05

I would have loved there to be more male role models in DD's nursery. I think it's really important to get all sorts of different inputs and experiences, including those from male carers. The dynamic is just different.

It also helps to break down the divide in what are 'boy jobs' and what are 'girl jobs' ( despite having a female GP, DD believed that only men are doctors, as an example).