Talk

Advanced search

To ask about your perceptions of access to IVF on the NHS

(59 Posts)
ArgyMargy Thu 06-Nov-14 07:52:12

I am not a journalist but if I'm breaking any MN rules feel free to tell me. I work in the health sector and am interested in health services. Some Clinical Commissioning Groups in our region have got together to produce a new policy for access to IVF (one cycle only) and I have concerns about it. I plan to write to Healthwatch to express these concerns but I would like to know if anyone else shares them. So can I ask you, what sort of things do you think might be in this policy in terms of eligibility? Specifically about age, health status and length of time trying to conceive?

LaurieFairyCake Thu 06-Nov-14 08:01:25

I'd guess you get one go at it, be under 45, and have been trying to conceive for 18months or more.

I heard that it's more difficult to get in some areas but I don't know that

Ohfourfoxache Thu 06-Nov-14 08:03:30

Marking place - worked in reproductive medicine for years, specifically dealing with assisted reproductive technology and (what were) PCT/consortium access policies.

Interested to see people's perceptions of eligibility criteria......

SorrelForbes Thu 06-Nov-14 08:03:45

I think that the policy should NOT exclude people from accessing IVF/ICSI where one partner has children from a previous relationship.

CaptainAnkles Thu 06-Nov-14 08:04:50

Is there a rule about being under a certain BMI?

honeysucklejasmine Thu 06-Nov-14 08:05:24

Absolutely Sorrel, that is very unfair.

FibonacciSeries Thu 06-Nov-14 08:06:42

I'm 40 and my DH has kids from a previous marriage; I wish neither of these two things made me uneligible.

cosysocks Thu 06-Nov-14 08:06:54

I think if one partner has a biological child and the other doesn't this should not be a block to IVF.

aprilanne Thu 06-Nov-14 08:23:10