Talk

Advanced search

How long can you leave a rabbit for?

(22 Posts)
RufflingFeathers Tue 09-Jan-18 09:50:41

We recently inherited an adult dwarf lop eared rabbit, who we love. We have a small enclosed garden that he has the run of during the day, we put in back in his hutch at night.

We've got a dog and other small animals that we re-home when we go away, but since we got the rabbit we've not had reason to leave him.

QUESTION: Could we leave him for a weekend in the back garden with plenty of food and water?
Is the reason we put him into his hutch at night because of safety? (foxes etc?). In all our decades here we've never seen or even heard of anyone who has seen a fox - like literally never, so I'm not too concerned about that.

We're total novices at the rabbit thing ! any advice welcome. He's a hardy thing - has been fine out even in the -8C that we've had recently (obviously wouldn't leave him alone if it was cold, as had to change water every couple of hours!!)

What do other people do when they leave rabbits????

2pups Tue 09-Jan-18 10:05:47

My rabbit was ok in his hutch for a 2 night weekend - he used to have 2 water bottles. I only left him very occasionally.

He also had loads of food.

Not sure I would trust a run. My friend lost 2 rabbits to a fox and has never seen foxes around.

Another option might be neighbours. Teenagers are usually very good bets - especially if the pet is outside they only need a side gate key or no key.

We had a teenager care for our Guineas before and was very happy with the £££.

bunnygeek Tue 09-Jan-18 12:03:13

I honestly wouldn't leave a bun over a weekend. Anything can happen. Have you got neighbours who could look in on him and check for frozen water?

You can't just leave a heap of food in front of them as there's a risk they'll try and eat it all and you come home to a rabbit with gut stasis/sloppy poop or they've passed on sad