Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

New to the piggies...

(14 Posts)
goodthinking99 Sun 12-Feb-17 19:30:28

I'm new to the joys of wee furry GPs but have had this pair of curious girls (Dolly and Bunty) for about 6 weeks. They are DDs (age7) but are mine really...and I think they are just great and find cleaning and feeding them quite a relaxing task

They wheek like goodun's at the merest hint a of bag of spinach being rustled and I think I've witnessed some popcorning...but it's to an untrained eye so I'm not sure.

My questions are - they live in the kitchen in this c&c run, does it look ok for them? Can I improve it? I'm planning to put a loft on soon, in the hope that they will be able to negotiate a ramp. They have a little pootle around the rest of the kitchen when I'm cleaning the run, is this to be encouraged? Could the explore the rest of the flat if supervised?

And they will deign to have their noses tickled when bribed with parsley (or any food) but aren't keen on being picked up...will this change when they've decided I'm a trustworthy presence or do I need to be more proactive?

I hope I'm doing the right thing by them, so any advice welcome.

pipsqueak25 Mon 13-Feb-17 09:36:00

they are gorgeous !! envy , i get my piggies tame by having lots of handling, hand feeding and talking with them, smile - they live in the dining room, as they are able to see you and hear stuff they will get more attention than being outside all the time and get to know who feeds them etc so that will all help, gentle stoking and handling will help too
your set up sounds good, 'pootle around the kitchen' grin i like it ! they can free range if supervised. you sound like you are doing a great job with your girls, love the names, so cute !!
thanks for the pics ! smile

pipsqueak25 Mon 13-Feb-17 09:38:31