Talk

Advanced search

Recovering heroin addict

(8 Posts)
Gotleib Thu 07-Nov-19 22:50:07

I’m not sure how long someone is a ‘risk’ for after using heroin - how long do they have to be ‘clean’ for before you can stop being scared of them relapsing imminently?

My sister (a recovering heroin addict, I.e only just stopped using a couple of weeks ago and currently in residential rehab for the next three weeks) will be staying at my parents house. Is it safe for my children to go round to my parents’ house whilst she is there? Theoretically she will be clean and there will be no drugs/ needles etc in the house but we are a bit concerned about taking the children there. Obviously she will not be alone with them or caring for them in any way. Am I overreacting? I don’t mean to offend any recovering addicts out there, but I have limited experience with drugs/drug users and can only think of the west lost dramatic outcomes!

Sevo7 Thu 07-Nov-19 22:56:09

In truth she will always be at risk of relapse, in the first couple of years anyway but recovery is a lifelong thing.

What are your concerns exactly when it comes to your children OP? If she’s not using and there’s no drugs or drug equipment around I’m not sure what your concerns are?

PurpleFrames Fri 08-Nov-19 21:21:15

I think seeing the children could be massively beneficial for her recovery. It shows what she could have, could be involved with etc

It would be a bit cruel to punish her further than what she's already been through by withholding them. Like you say if they're supervised there's no risk.

Recovery is lifelong but if she's engaged that's the main thing

Herja Fri 08-Nov-19 21:25:52