Talk

Advanced search

What is the oldest item of clothing in your wardrobe?

(37 Posts)
muddleduck Sun 20-Sep-09 14:47:24

just being nosy grin

I've just had a major sort out and found a dress that I still love to bits that I bought in 1996. It is debenhams own brand and only cost about £40 I think - I'm amazed how well it has lasted. I think it is the only thing left from my student days. blush

I'm wondering what sorts of things do really last a long time - we keep being told that things are "investment buys" but is it really the expensive stuff that lasts?

tassisssss Sun 20-Sep-09 14:56:27

I have my Mum's going away skirt. I think they're 37 years married this year! It's a fab tweed number that was part of a suit and I've been wearing it on and off since 1993!

I also have a long wool/cashmere coat that comes out every year and is 10 years old this year, I think I'll still be wearing it in another 10 years!

I have a summer dress that's 12 years old that I used to wear to wedidngs and now wear on the beach! I'm sure I have a few other skirts that I've had since my student days. I think skirts/dresses probably last longest in my wardrobe.

vinblanc Sun 20-Sep-09 14:57:23

I still have my hockey/lacrosse socks from school. I left in 1982.

bronzebeard Sun 20-Sep-09 14:57:50

Depends if you mean I've had longest or oldest in age. I have bits that were my grans etc for oldest. For me had longest (not including those I have a few tshirts (now fitted tops) from when I was about 7 now 28

CarGirl Sun 20-Sep-09 14:58:24

I top that was my Mum's it is 1960s gets worn regularly by me.

BonsoirAnna Sun 20-Sep-09 14:59:30

I have a couple of suits from 1998 and 1999. Prada, very expensive and still useful for solicitor and bank meetings.

AcrylicAfternoons Sun 20-Sep-09 14:59:37