Talk

Advanced search

For the first time I have got to wear a suit to work every day. HELP!!!

(6 Posts)
Lotstodo Tue 08-Sep-09 08:26:55

I am a complete novice but only want to spend minimum amount to look stylish and professional. Have stalked websites and shops but being a complete novice I am clueless. Think I'd go for a skirt suit and I am a short, chunky size 14.

nickschick Tue 08-Sep-09 08:29:21

Tesco have suits in for £15 skirt/trouser and jacket combos.

I think Id buy one of each and some nicer tops and funky jewellry and good quality shoes - accesorise it with the jewellry and perhaps funky tights?

GetOrfMoiLand Tue 08-Sep-09 08:39:19

What kind of job is it?

TBH I work in a very conservative environment, however I do not actually have to wear a suit. I am sure you will be able to wear dresses, trousers with smart tops/cardigans. Just as long as you look smart, I am sure you will be fine.

I would buy a suit which has a plain jacket which you can wear with other trousres and skirts, rather than waste money on different suits. Also, you can get trousers, skirts, jackets and waistcoats made of the same fabric, so you can mix and match.

Adsa do cheap work clothes, and some of them are good quality, foir instance I have some of their shirts and they wash really well. They are also very stylish at the moment - some George at Asda dresses have been mentiond in fashion magazines.

Also, if you have a Next discount outlet near you they can be good for basics, and are a lot cheaper than the actual shops.

Also Dorothy Perkins for cheap basics, or Linea at House of Fraser if you would like to spend a little more. Also Zara and Mexx.

Ceebee74 Tue 08-Sep-09 08:44:34

Depends on how much you want to spend.

I tend to get my suits from Next - have just got a lovely dark grey trouser suit for £70 - plus they do a skirt as well so you can get 2 suits iyswim.

I have also just got a skirt suit from M&S - they had a good range of basic ones.