Talk

Advanced search

I need help

(28 Posts)
LottieDugalo Sun 28-Jun-09 19:56:49

I've been reading this section all day, and I've seen some fab advice (although I'm aware I may get no replies as I'm a newbie)

I need help in a few areas (aware I'm being cheeky emoticon)...my dd has a gastrostomy tube and I'm noe forever washing and anti-bac gelling my hands so they're very red, sore, dry and itchy and I would love some recommendations for a nice moisturising hand cream the ones I've tried seem to be really greasy.

I would also appreciate some general style/beauty advice I used to be quite confident but I feel I've lost all that a little since being a mummy. I often see people who look "done" even in just a t-shirt and jeans and I don't, am I destined to feel like a scruffbag or are there secrets? I look at these lovely colourful tops in the shops but I'm not sure what shapes or colours to go for, I'm a size 8/10 with little in the boob area, pale (slightly blotchy) skin and reddish hair.

A slightly hopeful thank-you

ThePhantomPlopper Sun 28-Jun-09 19:59:46

I use this on my hands when they get really sore, bit pricey but leaves my hands in great condition.

janeite Sun 28-Jun-09 20:02:24

The Flexitol handcream is very good. My friend is a chef whose hands get quite dry and sore and she was really impressed when I lent her some. You only need a teeny tiny bit and if you do only use a bit, it isn't at all greasy.

HuffwardlyRudge Sun 28-Jun-09 20:04:28

Crabtree & Evelyn Avocado handcream is divine, non greasy and smells fabulous.

I think if you want to look 'done' you need to make sure your hair is well cut, your eyebrows are done, and you are wearing decent shoes and a non-scruffy bag.

LetThemEatCake Sun 28-Jun-09 20:16:45

gosh, how awful that you'd feel that you'd not get a response because you're a newbie ... I hope that cliquey attitude doesn't really exist on here??