Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Hair straighteners?

(16 Posts)
smartiejake Fri 05-Sep-08 09:53:52

Ok I have some philips hair straighteners which are ok (cost about £30) but one puff of wind or a bit of moisture in the air and my hair is a mess.

My hairdresser says that you really get what you pay for with straighteners and she uses "slick chic" ones. They are about £60.

But my dd says all her friends (they are 12???) use GHDs and I can't find any cheaper than £90.

Any one use slick chic straighteners or is it worth spending the extra £30 for the GHDs?

funnysinthegarden Fri 05-Sep-08 10:00:41

I don't know about Slick Chick straighteners, but would go with GHD any day. I have been using them for about 8 years now and they really are the best I have found. Also I have only had to replace them once in that time. I don't think you will get them for much less than £80-£90. I have just bought a new pair for about £80 from Amazon. BTW I use mine at least once every day as I have very curly hair, and my hair is still in good condition.

TheCrackFox Fri 05-Sep-08 10:01:58

I haven't used slick ones but I did have Phillips and 3 months ago I treated myself to GHDs. OMG!!! I have very thick, wavy, unmanageable hair and I have not had a bad hair day since I got my GHDs. If you can afford it I would say go for it.

savoycabbage Fri 05-Sep-08 10:04:10

I have ghd ones too and have had them for years. They are expensive but they are really good. I am sure I saw a magazine advert this week where you got some money off ghd if you gave in any other hair 'tool'.

MadameCastafiore Fri 05-Sep-08 10:04:22

Don't waste your money n anything other than GHDs!

They aren't called Good Hair Days for nothing you know!

smartiejake Fri 05-Sep-08 10:08:58

OK so which ones to buy? There seem to be so many- mini ones, large plates, small etc.
Have looked on amazon and they are a bit cheaper. Not sure what the difference with mark 1,2,3,4 etc.