Talk

Advanced search

Am going to be skint for next 3 years. Please help a MAC addict find a great alternative and also some great jeans that don't cost the earth and will last forever!

(25 Posts)
Notalone Mon 25-Aug-08 00:30:26

I am going to be a mature student next month and we are really going to feel the pinch. I don't have the best skin and need a lot of coverage so I always use MAC studio fix foundation. However at £20 a pop this is now going to be way out of my price range. Are there any cheaper brands that give full coverage and do the job as well as my lovely beloved MAC foundation?

Also I need some great flattering jeans that I can wear to death. I went to TKMAXX yesterday and found some Firetrap opnes reduced from £110 to £40. Are Firetrap any good for going the distance? Are there any other brands I should look for and where can I find bargains? Help!!!!!

zazen Mon 25-Aug-08 00:38:40

Wow when I was a student I wore farm overalls, seriously, and I wasn't studying farming - I just was so skint, and they were cheap and hardwearing.

I would advise you to have a look at acne.org for your skin if it's spotty - the regimen worked for me. Personally I wouldn't ecomomise on your foundation, not if you're happy with it - try and cut pennies somewhere else.

Do students wear stylish clothes these days? I thought the point in being a student was that you could spill beer / chemicals all over them and wear them again and again (after occasional washing)

Good luck with your course - what are you studying?

Notalone Mon 25-Aug-08 10:41:25

Thanks Zazen. I am going to be studying Occupational Therapy so I will either be in jeans or in uniform on placement I should imagine.

I am 30 so am unsure if students do wear stylish clothes or not, its been a while grin, but I really want some good quality (ideally fitted boot cut) jeans that will be just as good for matching with a nice top for a night out as for slobbing around in.