Talk

Advanced search

Any recommendations for a semi permanent henna

(13 Posts)
BlueOceanWave Tue 17-Nov-20 15:32:44

Does anyone have any recommendations for a semi permanent henna cream/hair dye?

I used a henna a few weeks ago but it was closer to my natural hair colour/brown. I liked it. There wasn't a big change. I definitely noticed a vibrant result with my hair. No body else would notice it but that's OK. I used a brand that was called Reflex (I think).

I wasn't to go for something a little bit more bold and vibrant. I want to go for a red or a copper. The brand that I bought a few weeks ago doesn't have a copper colour.

I'm apprehensive going for a permanent colour.

OP’s posts: |
BeBraveAndBeKind Tue 17-Nov-20 18:00:09

I've been using block henna from Lush for a few years now. It comes in several different colours including a bright red and a browny red. The final colour will depend on your natural colour though. I apply it, cover it with cling film and a towel and leave it for as long as I can stand it (it does make your head feel quite hot and heavy!) and then rinse it out with conditioner rather than shampooing. The condition locks the colour in longer and leaves it in really good condition. It gradually fades out.

Lellochip Tue 17-Nov-20 18:07:10

There's no such thing as semi-permanent henna, it's about as permanent as it comes, and can be impossible to remove. I absolutely adore the copper colour you get from henna, used it myself for years, but if you're apprehensive about permanent I don't think henna is the way to go

AnnaMagnani Tue 17-Nov-20 21:30:54

Lush henna is lovely but very much permanent.

It does give an amazing colour and you can modify it by mixing between the colours available - there are loads of Youtube videos on it - so you end up with something a bit more subtle.

The coating on your hair leaves it with a permanent shine and fantastic condition - but that and the colour will be there until it grows out.