Talk

Advanced search

How do I bleach my hair at home?

(26 Posts)
User14567891 Thu 22-Mar-18 16:34:25

I have an amazing hairdresser and have been silver/ashy blonde for a while. But it costs so much and takes so long at the hairdressers!

I’m thinking of doing it myself at home but worried it will kill my hair and/or go brassy. Do I use permanent or semi-permanent? I genuinely have no idea what I’m doing. Please help me!

TheQueenOfWands Thu 22-Mar-18 16:35:32

Please don't.

I beg of you.

User14567891 Thu 22-Mar-18 16:37:08

Would it look really bad?

Redken24 Thu 22-Mar-18 16:37:28

Go to your local hair college will be much cheaper

User14567891 Thu 22-Mar-18 16:39:39

I used to do that when I was a student but they take even longer! I just don’t have the time to sit for hours in the hairdressers every few weeks. ☹️

ILostItInTheEarlyNineties Thu 22-Mar-18 16:45:09

I use Nice n Easy ultra light ash blonde on mine. You'll need a permanent dye containing bleach to lighten it.
It's easy to use, just follow the instructions but proceed with caution. You only need to touch up your roots each time so you'll need to be able to divide your hair into sections and apply to roots only. Continually putting bleach on already bleached hair will cause damage.

Go for an ash shade to avoid brassiness. You'll probably benefit from a toning shampoo as well.

Do a strand test first on a small section of hair a couple of days before- pour out small equal amounts from both bottles (developer and colour) mix on a saucer and apply. Check the resulting colour on the strand once it's dried in different lights. This will prevent any disasters.

I think you need to be fairly competent with re touching roots to get good results.
If you don't feel confident, stick with your hairdresser.

xLeanne128 Thu 22-Mar-18 16:50:24

Ive found after been to the hairdresser no home colouring kit touches my hair no matter how long i leave it on. Whatever you try make sure you do a strand test x