Talk

Advanced search

Going to a masquerade ball... Need dress and mask ideas!

(12 Posts)
Kissisforpirate Sat 04-Nov-17 15:35:51

My friend is putting on a masquerade ball for her 40th next Jan and I need a fancy dress!
I was going to wear an old bridesmaid dress but i can't do it up anymore...

I would really like a dress with a big tulle skirt - like a long floppy tutu if that makes sense. Maybe in a dusky pink or red but I'm open to most colours. I need it to have straps as i can't go braless. Any ideas where i can get one from? I would like to spend no more than £50 and am happy to wait for the sales.

I also need a mask. As i wear glasses i was thinking of getting the ones that clip onto frames and then doing elaborate makeup. Where can i get a madk like this from?

Kissisforpirate Sat 04-Nov-17 15:52:36

I should add I'm 5 foot 3 and maxi dresses are often too long for me. I usually wear dresses that end in the knee. Size 14 and an hourglass shape. I'm not very good with heels so will likely need to wear flat shoes.

onlyonaTuesday Sat 04-Nov-17 15:57:22

https://www.chichiclothing.com/products/Chi-Chi-Harlow-Dress.html
Maybe something like this?

ReinettePompadour Sat 04-Nov-17 15:59:16

Hire something? masqueradecostume.co.uk/costume-hire-and-fancy-dress/costume-hire/costume-ranges/

Masquerade masks are everywhere at the moment as decorations for your Christmas tree. My DD adores them so we buy several every year. Pop down to your local garden centre and see what they have, theyre usually around £5-10 depending on how luxurious you want them. They have ties so you could easily tie one to your glasses.

hendricksyousay Sat 04-Nov-17 16:01:27

If you look on the website lipsy do long evening dresses which come in petite . I’m 5 ft and they are the perfect length for me .

bananafanana1 Sat 04-Nov-17 16:03:24

Try Elsie’s Attic for the skirt

https://www.elsiesattic.co.uk/product/antique-rose-midi-tulle-tutu-skirt-2/

Kissisforpirate Sat 04-Nov-17 21:36:12