Talk

Advanced search

Need something smart / sparkly for work night out...

(17 Posts)
RainbowBriteRules Sat 07-Oct-17 21:17:26

... that is either a top to wear with trousers or a dress I can wear with tights (horrible legs).

I'm shortish and have gone from a toned size 6-8 to a very untoned size 8-10 over the last few months. People at work will not realise this as we wear baggy uniforms most of the time. I am still slim and actually look much better for putting the weight on but I need to hide my tummy.

Any advice?

RainbowBriteRules Sat 07-Oct-17 21:17:57

Sorry meant to post in Style and Beauty blush. Will report!

ToniMumsnet (MNHQ) Sun 08-Oct-17 12:05:31

We are moving this thread to Style and Beauty soon.

RainbowBriteRules Sun 08-Oct-17 12:59:24

Thanks Toni.

taybert Sun 08-Oct-17 14:20:31

I'm not very good at nights out because I don't have them often but I'm currently liking coated leggings/skinnies with a plain top which can be quite boxy and tummy hiding (like a silk shirt) big jewellery and high heels.

It's very possible I look like a mum who never goes on nights out though....

RainbowBriteRules Sun 08-Oct-17 14:29:20

I suspect I look exactly like a mum who ever goes out! I have a few coming up but normally never go on proper nights out. Hence the worry grin.

That sounds like a good idea though taybert, thank you.

Nettletheelf Sun 08-Oct-17 19:23:43

I'd avoid sparkly. You don't say how old you are but after a certain age it's a bit predictable to buy 'something sparkly' for a night out if you don't go out often. Reminds me of my mum going to Per Una for 'something a bit jazzy for line dancing'!

The leather (or faux leather) leggings suggestion is a good one. If your arms are OK I'd put it with a sleeveless top, maybe a silk fronted tank top, worn loose, in a contrasting colour, then add jewellery. That's where your sparkle should be, not on the garments!