Talk

Advanced search

Spray Tan/Sunbed/or something else?

(17 Posts)
Lorralorralaughs Tue 30-May-17 13:36:39

I am going on a date soon, and have a beautiful maxi dress to wear that has a front split (think up to about my knee). Now my legs, at the best of times look as white as chalk and I'm a bit overweight....., so I am considering some kind of tan (also so I'll look better in my underwear!). However, as I am very pasty...I am not sure whether a spray tan would make me look like an oompa-loompa. Would a sunbed be better? And if so - do I need a couple before the tan starts to 'show'.

I am a complete novice so any advice would be most appreciated :-)

specialsubject Tue 30-May-17 13:39:47

Sunbed obviously a stupid idea. There are two legal products that are dangerous if used as instructed and the other one is tobacco.

Spray if you want, they always look daft though.

EllaNB Tue 30-May-17 13:44:09

I would purchase a fake tan from boots and an application mit.

The st tropez foam is great for giving you a nice natural tan although a bit expensive.

I have recently purchased a tan called bondi sands that I applied at the weekend. It's cheaper that St Tropez and has honestly given me such a nice natural tan. No streaks and not orange. The people who I spent the weekend with had no idea that it was a fake tan until I told them smile

Lorralorralaughs Tue 30-May-17 14:01:49

Useful feedback special. Thanks for taking the time confused

Thank you EllaNB - I'll have a look at that. I am always worried about streaking - especially as it's so noticeable on my white as white skin.

Calyx72 Tue 30-May-17 14:09:00

Watching as in the same situation as you OP - not a date but a wedding

EccentricPickle Tue 30-May-17 14:09:41

Can't go wrong with Dove's gradual tanner, IMO.

I use it for every night out and all through summer. It doesn't make me orange (I don't think), people have commented on what a good tan I have, thinking that it was real.