Talk

Advanced search

Image overhaul required....but I'm preggers!

(14 Posts)
TheLegendOfBeans Sat 15-Apr-17 11:34:39

Ladies of MN, help me dress myself.

I'm 35, with a DD of 14 months and another baby on the way (due November).

I'm usually a size 12-14 and classic pear shaped. I'm writing this post because I'm sick of my "mum" uniform of the usual jeans and stripey top. Sometime I'll vary with shirts but I think I look frumpy and old before my time.

I was happiest when I was in corporate wear, as I used to work in finance. The shirt tucked into a pencil skirt combo was flattering and even in boring court shoes I'd look pretty good.

I can't wear that anymore as I'll
A) look like someone who's pretending to have an office job
B) my waistline is going away due to baby bump.

Can anyone recommend anything that's a bit different? Trying to avoid jeans, trying to wear more dresses but also looking for something that's not got any kind of ageing patterns on it (I find FatFace and SeaSalt stuff quite fuddy duddy).

If it helps I'm 5'6" with blond hair and I'm quite booby and bummy.

Thanks hive mind. X

TheLegendOfBeans Sat 15-Apr-17 15:33:25

Bumping

silkpyjamasallday Sat 15-Apr-17 16:35:53

I'm pear shaped and couldn't be arsed trying to find maternity jeans once I couldn't fit in my usual ones, and a pair of black jeans was always a major part of my uniform.

I was also extremely skint at the time, so ordered a longline stretchy tube skirt from missguided as they are only £10, I wasn't expecting great things but I barely took it off for the entire pregnancy and I am not exaggerating! It is in lots of colours but I got black and it looks good with shirts,blouses tshirt and jumpers so pretty versatile and I think it looked good as it emphasises the curve from waist to hip that pear shaped people usually try to hide.