Talk

Advanced search

Alternative to coconut oil for body moisturising

(12 Posts)
LemonadeWithACherry Wed 12-Apr-17 11:51:13

I've been using coconut oil for about 3 years now and I think it's actually starting to make my skin drier. I like how it's cheap in Aldi and I can use lots of it and it does feel nice and moisturising when I put it on, it just doesn't seem to have a lasting effect. I had to uncover my legs for a hospital appointment last week and they totally showed me up with their flaky scaliness.

I have sensitive skin and cheap moisturizers often feel stingy and astringent, I also have keratosis pilaris although not so bad as it used to be.

I'm contemplating using olive oil but I don't know if it will make me smell a bit odd! Any recommendations for a cheap effective body moisturizer please?

bingohandjob Wed 12-Apr-17 12:03:54

I swear by Palmer's Cocoa Butter..I know some people dislike the scent but I've grown to like it. I buy it in Boots or Superdrug when it's on offer and stock up. Superdrug Vitamin E lotion is good, too. On offer at the moment www.superdrug.com/Skin/Body-Care/Body-Creams/Superdrug-Vitamin-E-Intensive-All-Over-Body-Cream-475ml/p/436314

DandelionAndBedrock Wed 12-Apr-17 12:07:39

I came on to say the big tubs of Superdrug Vitamin E moisturiser. They last for ages and I even got away with using it on my face once when I ran out of face cream.

poppym12 Wed 12-Apr-17 15:52:56

I use almond oil. Even a whiff of anything coconutty sends my skin into an itch frenzy but I find most creams to be too rich, heavy or scented.

applecatchers36 Wed 12-Apr-17 15:55:58

Yep food grade almond oil is fab, cheap, non irritating and mild (and obv moisturising)

WellTidy Wed 12-Apr-17 16:00:07

Flexitol for legs contains 5% urea and is very moisturising and cheap. If you want something more luxurious, I have found Rituals whipped body soufflé very moisturising too, but very light in texture and gorgeous fragrances.